Kampala is Uganda’s largest urban centre. It is the fastest growing city that has a distinctive setting spread across a number of seven prominent hills close to Lake Victoria. The name Kampala originates from the many impalas that were resent during the 19th century on the present day old Kampala hill on which Fredrick Lugard established him and put up his fort. Kampala was built on more than seven hills although emphasis was put on the seven hills that is; Mulago, Nakasero, Kibuli, Rubaga, (Old) Kampala, Namirembe (Mengo), and Makerere hence the expansion of the name, territories and the title of the city of seven hills.

Every hill represents a principal feature where by the three of the hills are divided into the four major religions of the country;

  • Namirembe Hill for the Anglicans
  • Rubaga Hill for the Catholics
  • Kibuli Hill
  • Old Kampala for the Muslims
  • Nakasero Hill is reserved for public administration as well as the preferred residence for the employees. This hill also houses the State house for the president of the Republic of Uganda.
  • Makerere Hill was reserved for the highest institution of learning and the most prestigious university in East Africa and Mulago for public health (the national referral hospital).